1. Welcome to the official forum for MINIX devices!
    Dismiss Notice

Tutorial Guide (Newer Drivers) - Installing Drivers After Clean-Installation of Windows 10 x64

Discussion in 'NEO Z83-4 Guides & FAQs' started by The IT Master Wizard, Jun 2, 2018.

1. So in my organization we are using Windows 10 2016 LTSB on a MINIX Z83-4 Pro and will be deployed in a Kiosk. I wanted to make sure I could get everything I could out of this little PC. In my opinion, due to the SSD size, Minix should have deployed these with Windows 10 LTSB not, Home or Pro, with all of the Feature Upgrades for Home or Pro, it’s just too much for these little things.

I work in IT and spent pretty much the whole day getting it the way I wanted. So here is my 2 cents of contribution here to help people.

I initially downloaded the “Z83-4_device_drivers_Win10_64bit.rar” package from these forums to obtain the drivers. I used PnPUtil.exe, a Windows command line function to install them all.

So for example, the downloaded drivers when extracted, there is a folder named “Z83-4_device_drivers_Win10_64bit”. Then in there is a folder called “Z83-4_device_drivers”. Then in there are subfolders for each driver type as shown below:

- Audio
    - Bluetooth
    - BM
    - DPTF
    - GPIO
    - I2C
    - ISH
    - MBI
    - PMIC
    - PSS
    - SPI
    - Touch
    - TXEI
    - UART
    - Wireless

Instead of going to Device Manager and doing them individually I can achieve the same result much better and easier by running this command:

PnPUtil.exe /ADD-DRIVER "C:\TEMP\Z83-4_device_drivers_Win10_64bit\Z83-4_device_drivers\*.inf" /INSTALL /SUBDIRS

This will add each *.inf to the Windows Driver Store and install the drivers on all matching and detected devices connected.

Now the PROBLEM is some of these drivers are old and some aren’t needed or even work.

But first, I will show how to get all the drivers directly instead of relying on MINIX.

Downloading the Chipset Drivers: