1. Registration issues have now been resolved. New accounts are able to be created

Having trouble updating firmware

Discussion in 'X8 - X8H Official Firmware 002' started by Jon Bennett, Dec 16, 2014.

1. Jon Bennett

Jon Bennett New Member

I have put both the aml file and the update zip onto a formatted fat32 usb.

it tries to update but then it comes up with this.....

E: Footer is wrong
    E: signiture verification failed.

Anybody know what im doing wrong please
  2. Higgs

Higgs Yellow Dude Super Moderator

Did you check the md5 checksum of the update.zip file?
  3. adi_tca

adi_tca Trusted Helper Trusted Helper

Did you put both files in the root of the SD card? Did you checked the MD5 checksum?
  4. Jon Bennett

Jon Bennett New Member

im a noob sorry, how do i do that?
  5. Jon Bennett

Jon Bennett New Member

its not in a folder or anything if thats what you mean....
  6. adi_tca

To check the MD5 checksum you can use any MD5 tool, like the one from here: http://www.winmd5.com/

In my post above I meant that both files should be in the root of the USB stick (not SD card, as I wrongly posted) and not in a folder, but you confirmed they are in the root...
  7. Jon Bennett

Jon Bennett New Member

this is what i have 073ad70a9d87d1565de41b98b36e5cdf

how come mine is different?
  8. Higgs

Higgs Yellow Dude Super Moderator

The download probably stopped before the file was complete. Try downloading using a download manager (free download manager works well for me).
    Also the forum server link is usually faster than the minix server link.
  9. adi_tca

Like Higgs said, either get it from the forum link posted by HardwareGuru in 1st page of 002A thread, or from here: https://mega.co.nz/#!5MdFSILZ!138EF54ixL-hEj_mkaIWnNX0fTJCVold3mS5NFQECvA
    This 2nd link was posted by one of the users in post 1154 in the 002A FW thread, I used this 2nd link last night and it took me 3-4 mins to download the whole file correctly and the MD5 checksum was correct.