1. Registration issues have now been resolved. New accounts are able to be created

Problems adding Mac based SMB Share - Neo U9

Discussion in 'Kodi/XBMC for MINIX' started by Cyberman, Mar 12, 2017.

1. Cyberman

Cyberman Member

Complete newb to these Android boxes but most impressed with the U9 / A3 combo I just bought as a trial for replacing my Apple TVs. Only problem I've had was trying to add an SMB share to Kodi 17 where the share resides on a Mac Mini.

Actually I'm guessing this isn't really related to Minix or the U9 at all, rather it's down to Kodi or, more specifically, Apple and their their lame and outdated support for SMB sharing. Just posting here in case it helps anyone else having the same problems and to see if anyone using Kodi on Minix devices has come across it an better ways round it.

I've read literally dozens of threads relating to this, most of which seem to rely on enabling the guest account on the hosting Mac Mini and allowing users of the guest account to access shared files. But jeez, I tried absolutely EVERY way that was suggested and kept drawing a blank, especially when trying to add the share via File Manager in Kodi 17. Trying what I think is supposed to be the quickest / easiest way I went through File Manager to try and browse for any SMB shares and got the 'Error 2: Share not available'. Then I tried dozens of ways trying to add the source by name, name adding the .local and also by IP address. Tried it with and without share folder names and with and without user name and password but every single time I got one fail message after another from 'Connection Refused', 'Broken Pipe' and 'Directory no available'. Really was an absolute PITA. Like I say, not down to the U9 at all I think but I can really see how some people might get seriously frustrated with Kodi if they're using Mac shares if their experience was anything like mine.