1. Welcome to the official forum for MINIX devices!

Slow buffering in Kodi

Discussion in 'Kodi/XBMC for MINIX' started by MovesLikeSwayze, Dec 28, 2015.

1. MovesLikeSwayze

MovesLikeSwayze New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to Minix devices and android boxes in general so excuse any of my ignorance. Got my U1 a few days ago and have been overall very happy with it but I'm noticing very slow buffering times while streaming with Kodi. I find myself waiting up to 5 minutes for it to buffer until the cache is full (which isn't much, but I've read minix will be resolving this in the next fw update), so it works out to watch for 5 minutes, wait for 5 minutes, repeat.
    I'm connected via ethernet cable to a wifi range extender that my Internet company provided, the modem is in another room about 25 feet away. I ran the ookla speed test and got 55 mbps download. This should in theory be plenty for any content I'm trying to stream. Watching HD videos on YouTube is no problem and loads quickly. But it seems no matter what I choose to watch via Kodi streaming, it's slow to buffer. I've used lesser streaming boxes (albeit not of my own in my house with my setup) with no wait times in Kodi. Is this just a matter of busy servers? Is there something aside from download speed that could be hampering my connection? Any insight would be appreciated!
  2. samok.no

samok.no New Member

That never happen to me on Minix X5,X7,X8 and U1. I stream with XBMC/KODI everyday..... i have a 30 mb Internett connection (27-28 on test, WIFI)
    Did you update the firmware to the latest, and change to XBMC for Minix or Kodi 16.4?
  3. awandroidbox

awandroidbox New Member

I also am new to minix devices and android boxes. I also just got my U1 last week and am having the same problem with streaming Kodi. I have been using XBMC for Minix. I am connected through ethernet directly to the modem and have no problem streaming youtube or browsing.