1. MINIX team will be having Chinese Lunar New Year holidays from 23/01 to 05/02, replies will be limited during this period, please kindly note.

Tutorial Small mouse pointer on X7 Kitkat v240 [ROOT]

Discussion in 'NEO X7 Guides & FAQs' started by ries, Jun 30, 2015.

1. ries

ries New Member

The latest official firmware for the Minix Neo X7, Android Kitkat v240, features the return of the big old mouse pointer.
    If you prefer the smaller mouse pointer used in v230, here's a method to get it back.

WARNING: USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

I am not a developer, and in no way affiliated with the development team. I'm just a member of the forum and this is just a quick and dirty 'hack' that works for me. As far as I can tell this method should not affect any future OTA updates (devs, correct me if I'm wrong) except maybe that updating may restore the big mouse pointer. The 'hack' consists of replacing a system file on a running system and therefore your firmware needs to be rooted. If you're not familiar with rooting then maybe you should settle with the big mouse pointer and hope the developers will make an official update.zip or possibly even the feature of choosing your preferred mouse pointer in a future OTA update? :)

Short explanation of how it's done:

The mouse pointer images are embedded in a system file called framework-res.apk. I took the framework-res.apk files from both the v230 rom and the v240 rom and compared them to find the different mouse pointer images. I replaced the big mouse pointer images (they come in 3 resolutions) in the v240 file with the small mouse pointer images from the v230 file by opening both apk files in WinRar and dragging the images from the old apk to the new apk and overwriting them.
    I've provided my modified framework-res.apk below so all you have to do is replace the original one with this modified one.

The actual instructions:

-Make sure your system is rooted (note: rooting your system voids your warranty!)