1. MINIX team will be having Chinese Lunar New Year holidays from 23/01 to 05/02, replies will be limited during this period, please kindly note.

TOTAL NEWBIE! What firmware am I running and how do I get it to latest ?

Discussion in 'Official Firmware Releases' started by Steven Cassidy, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Steven Cassidy

Steven Cassidy New Member

Hi People. I have an X8-h and have had it about 2 years and as far as I know it's never been updated because I don't know how manually. I clicked on system update in settings and just says No Update. Can someone please explain how to update in the simplest way possible because I don't have a scooby.

Model number
    Neo x8-h

Android version 4.4.2
    Build number
    KOT49H.20140722 test-keys

Kernel version
    root@user-desktop#3
    Jul 22 2014

Thanks.
  2. Higgs

Higgs Yellow Dude Super Moderator

3. Steven Cassidy

4. Steven Cassidy

Hi ,
    I have a new problem now. I clicked on the Minix update OTA icon just to check and there was an update available 150mb . It downloaded it but is stuck(frozen) on "installing system update" for over half an hour and my connection is 50mbs. What can I do ?
  5. Higgs

If you used the fw009 zip file when you updated then you should be on the latest firmware. Did you use a different zip file to update?
    At this stage you should probably reboot. Clear the data/cache from the System Update app then try it again.
  6. Steven Cassidy

I have the green android man on the screen with INSTALLING SYSTEM UPDATE underneath. But no progress after 45 min now. (Frozen)How do I reboot from here. Turn power off at the wall or something else ?
  7. Steven Cassidy

Ps . I did use the 009 zip file
  8. Higgs

Yes, switch the power off and restart. Which zip file did you use to update initially?
  9. Steven Cassidy

X8_X8PLUS_X8H_FW009
  10. Higgs