1. Welcome to the official forum for MINIX devices!

Where can I find the original BIOS firmware?

Discussion in 'NEO Z64 Windows 10/8.1' started by imi, Nov 3, 2017.

1. imi

imi New Member

Hi All

Hoping someone can help.

Upgraded the BIOS of my Z64W to the latest 1.83 that I found here and have been experiencing weird ethernet wired disconnect issues with Plex (as in triggered when using plex but the entire device drops off the network for a good 30+ mins OR a reboot)

I have eradicated all other changes that i have made in the past week, rebuild win8 from scratch, updated drivers etc to no avail - the last thing that I would like to try is to revert back to the older / original version of BIOS - where can I find that?

Lesson learnt - once you have something working - don't mess about - all started by installing the latest version of W10...should have left it alone as it was working flawlessly for over a year.

Regards
  2. Villa

Villa Administrator Administrator

I'm no expert but I wouldn't advise changing the BIOS as BIOS 1.83 included this...
    1.) This BIOS disabled the ESRT service using by Microsoft update service to avoid wrong BIOS update being pushed to our devices.
  3. imi

imi New Member

Fair point - I’d still like to try out the previous bios to isolate the issue.
  4. imi

imi New Member

Win8.1 & Plex - Constant Network Disconnects

Hi Team

Been struggling with this for the past week and not making much progress.

Was working perfectly as a Plex Server for a year with Win10 on it until I had to mess around with it :(

Upgraded it to the latest Win10
    Upgraded the BIOS
    Installed VNC Connect.

And things started to go wrong - essentially the unit disconnects from the network when using Plex to stream content.

Or when using VNC and Plex simultaneously.

In order to bring it back - I either have to wait for a hour OR reboot the box. As a Plex server the unit is no longer functional as this defeats the purpose.... :(